BVS2008: Motivations

The 2008 broadband video strategy study is now finished. I wrote it partly out of curiosity, partly because I wanted to get the whole media value chain out of my system. I also had made a promise in my master’s thesis that broadband video business analysis would be a continuous process of re-evaluating the industry. Effects of introducing high-definition video services offered an interesting and topical object of study. Hopefully writing the strategic study has helped me understand business and even life bit more. Even better if I learned something new and will be able to apply the knowledge in future ventures.

HD is a significant leap in technology, but it may not be the most important change in media consumption. One could ask whether advent of HD really warranted a study of its own. To be frank the outcome is never clear starting out. Now it seems HD indeed does have effect the media value chain, but there are more powerful forces at play. Internet and other techniques in areas such as billing and content are progressing. I doubt there will be a third study, but who knows maybe immersive 3D will start shaking things up in six years time.

Since I do not work in the broadcast or video entertainment industry anymore there is currently very little use for the end result personally. Writing a thorough account on the way things are seemed a good way to put an end to it, at least for a time being. I will be interested in pursuing leadership positions in media services industry later on, but right now I want to get some other experience under my belt first. For now I’m concentrating on helping enterprises adopt video and rich media in their internal communications.


Fideocam concept

Fideocam is a pioneer in automating video tools for personal experience capture.

Categ

Archives


