Future crept up on me

It has been some time since I have had a look back at how video imaging technology has evolved. As always in the long term things tend to move faster than you expect. I was surprised to find that lots of things that I have been dreaming about can already be found  on the shelves or have just been published on the gadget blogs.

Some of the things I ran into in an advertisement for a local electronics store were DVB-C/T hybrid set top boxes, HD PVRs (no Conax pairing support yet however) and even a 3D screen. On the web there was just a DSLR with 24 fps 720p video recording published. No AVCHD compression yet, but I’m definitely looking forward to a subsequent 1080p model.

What to make of these things then? I think the big thing is that all the progress will have the effect of further democratizing audio visual communication by making better tools more accessible and the older more basic stuff cheaper. Also it is good to see the innovation out on the streets now since I’m afraid the economic downturn might have a negative effect on the rate things are brought out to the market.

1 Response to “Future crept up on me”


  1. 1 fideocam September 2, 2008 at 5:36 pm

    Of course I was referring to Nikon D90 when I mentioned the HD DSLR. I was expecting it for 2009 and I got pretty close in my predictions

    https://fideocam.wordpress.com/2007/12/30/predictions-for-2009/

    One of the things that bug me is howcome they did not include a proper encoding chip. I read the clips would be stored as MJPEG, which is notoriously poorly implemented standard. I wonder how much it would have cost to have an AVCHD encoder.


Comments are currently closed.



Fideocam concept

Fideocam is a pioneer in automating video tools for personal experience capture.

Categ

Archives


