Backend for Autoviewer 2.01

I wrote a simple backend tool for Autoviewer Flash gallery some time ago and put it up for grabs on my blog. Since then I have wanted to make some improvements to the script. Now I have finally finished implementing the features I have found most useful. The UI is still not pretty, but it is now possible to manage multiple galleries. I would like to share the fruit of my work with you so feel free to download the package and install it.

The requirements are the same (MySQL, PHP5) and the basic installation work is a lot like the one for the previous version. Download this new 2.02 package, rename it from .jpg to .zip, extract files, upload, download autoviewer (.js and .flv), create db, set variables in config.php, evoke the install script and set pw for admin folder. I haven’t created a conversion script yet, so you if you had the previous version up and running you will need to create the galleries from scratch.

As I have been developing this script there have been few things I have thought might be good to still improve on.

  • One thing on top of my mind is kind of a publication logic that shows only the finished galleries. I think that allowing time to try different sequences would make the script little bit more useful for visual artists concious of the rhythm of the resulting slideshow.
  • Secondly I would like to separate functions from the frontend and tidy up the admin user interface. I think bringing the AJAX smoothness to all functions would be a nice touch.
  • I have also thought about making the script more accessible for folks. The initial thought was to make a WordPress or Joomla! plug-in out of it.
  • I still also think would be nice to move the whole system to some cloud platform and offer it as a service to anybody who wants to use it. At the moment at least Amazon S3 would require translation to python so that will have to wait.

Anyways we will see if I ever get the urge to put the work into realizing the updates. At least I will try to learn little bit more about video on clouds as I imagine that it would be nice to incorporate video files onto the slideshows some day.

13 Responses to “Backend for Autoviewer 2.01”


  1. 1 Roy February 23, 2009 at 7:11 pm

    Hi There, I really need a script like this, however, I can’t get this to work. I’m a designer not a programmer, so forgive my ignorance. When I go to admin/install.php this is what I get:

    “Warning: mysql_connect(): Access denied for user ‘loginname’@’xx.xx.xx.xx’ (using password: NO) in /home/content/b/r/u/loginanme/html/yourfiles/SG/admin/install.php on line 6
    Unable to select database”

    I’m trying to set this up on GoDaddy. I plan to spruce up the admin interface with some images/CSS, I can design you a default admin interface if you can help me get this implemented on my site, whaddaya say?

  2. 2 fideocam February 24, 2009 at 7:00 pm

    Thanks Roy. There was a path mistake in the install script. The package has been updated. I would be very happy if you can share your UI work.

  3. 3 Nick February 25, 2009 at 3:02 pm

    wow. this is just what i’m looking for. if i could get it to work. i am getting the same ‘Unable to select database.’ error, but with none of the debug info.

    Oh, and i am inept with all things php.

    thanks for any help, or just the effort! an impressive tool, even if i’m not able to get it running.

  4. 4 fideocam February 25, 2009 at 10:15 pm

    Hmmm,
    I have done the development on Windows so it may require little bit of tinkering to get it working on unix systems. I will do a distro that should work on Linux also. Let’s call it 2.02.

  5. 5 leff March 24, 2009 at 5:44 pm

    Hey , thanks for the tool but It doesn’t work at home .

    tryed on 2 different server ,I have php 5.2.6 installed .

    I unzipped the directory and set up config.php with my owmn DB informations .
    I installed a new DB and autorized the user to access on it .

    When I use install.php It write “Unable to select database” .

    So I tried to copy the SQL table directly .

    When I load admin/index.php It writes “mysql_fetch_assoc(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in …./admin/gdb.php on line 18 ”

    PLease Help me on how to use your script … 😉

    Thanks

  6. 6 Dani April 7, 2009 at 6:42 pm

    Hello, this script is what Im looking for, but I have uploaded your script to home/mydomain/autoviewer but when I exec admin/install.php the script dont fid any database, I have previously configure mysql and config.php, do you know what this is about?

    Thanks

  7. 7 fideocam April 13, 2009 at 8:00 pm

    Leff figured out the problem with the install script so publishing the 2.02 version is close.

  8. 9 Roy April 16, 2009 at 8:26 pm

    Hey Fideocam, I still plan to hook you up with some graphics for this interface, but the project has been put on hold for a few weeks. I will be in touch. Is there an email I can reach you at?

  9. 10 tuur June 20, 2009 at 3:42 pm

    hey fideocam,

    this is the script that i have been searching for quite some time… unfortunately i can’t seem to open the .zip after renaming it… any chance you can put it up on rapidshare?

    greets, tuur


  1. 1 Backend for Autoviewer « Fideocam - The Blog Trackback on February 15, 2009 at 9:56 pm
  2. 2 Backend for Autoviewer 2.02 « Fideocam - The Blog Trackback on April 14, 2009 at 9:52 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Fideocam concept

Fideocam is a pioneer in automating video tools for personal experience capture.

Categ

Archives


