HTML5 and AVCHD

I’m really keen on adopting HTML5 as it provides open mechanisms for building rich web sites. Since I use an AVCHD camcorder for home cinematography one of the questions that came to mind is whether HTML5 could be helpful in organizing the ever expanding collection of clips.  Obviously since it is just for hobby the key challenge is how to utilize the clips with minimum hassle.

The initial thought was that I would like to avoid time-consuming conversion of avchd video clips (.mts) if is in any way possible. The fact is video codec’s supported by HTML5 compatible browsers are Ogg Theora and H.264.  Since .mts files are essentially already in h.264 format I thought I might have a chance to avoid transcoding. Unfortunately life is not that simple.

AVCHD files may be h.264, but they use proprietary extensions (eg. PAFF) that are not compatible with the flavor of h.264 supported by the browsers. Since avchd is packaged in MPEG-2 wrapper I just wish I could find a way to convert or drop just the incompatible parts of the file.  Other than that little obstacle I hope it would  only the wrapper that needs to change. If not then I will need to have look if VLC would eventually support playlists with start, end and duration.


Fideocam concept

Fideocam is a pioneer in automating video tools for personal experience capture.

Categ

Archives


