Pi Zero W: First impressions

pi zero w 001I’ve been playing around with Raspberry pi 2 for some time now. Wireless Zero was published last week and I jumped on the chance to get on the latest wagon. I bought the Zero with case package from The Pi Hut. The device is small and inconspicuous so it will be great for lot of little projects. Zero W seems to be exactly what I wanted.

At first I was disappointed no screws were included for tightening the board to the plastic shell. However I found out all you need is to snap it into place.The first real hitch came as I realized there is only the micro USB port so I can’t attach my mouse and configure bluetooth keyboard. Off to the shops… Continues couple of weeks later:

pi zero w 002

First thing I did was to try booting with Raspbian. The only issue is that Zero desktop feels kind of sluggish, but maybe without the gui the processing power would be enough for other things. Pi Zero’s small form factor really makes it more suitable for cool little projects. Initially I thought I would try to set it up as a video surveillance device.  MotionEyesOS was fairly easy to try out. All I had to do was to install it’s own OS on a sd card and set the wifi password using wpa_supplicant.conf file.

MotionEye is controlled via a web interface so I just checked from my wifi router what IP DHCP allocated to the device and connected via browser. The first impressions were good, but I had some trouble using the GUI in as I kept logging out. I changed some settings and ended up screwing up the install. Now the device is stuck in network connection phase and I guess I will need to start from scratch. I’m worried the board heats up and does not work stable, but I will give it another try.

Eventually I would like to be able to upload the captured videos and/or stills on a web server where I could utilize my old Fideocam scripts to present the content.

 

 


Fideocam concept

Fideocam is a pioneer in automating video tools for personal experience capture.

Categ

Archives


