IoT hockey shot radar

I bought a cheap radar device to help training my wrist shot. The device is fairly simple and  just shows the shot speed on the LED display and announces it aloud. The thing that occurred to me was that wouldn’t it be cool if you could keep track of all the shots you have taken practicing shooting off-ice. So I opened up the plastic case and this is what I found.

20170401_124107[1]

Radar circuit board

I assume the white thing at the top is the main radar detector component itself. There are couple of capacitors to the right which are either to smooth out the voltage or tune the radar. The two microcontrollers are used to control the led screen and play out audio, but maybe involved with more analog to digital. I’m not sure whether it is possible to clamp on with alligator clip at some point to just read the voltage with Raspberry Pi GPIO pins or will it be more difficult to repurpose the existing device.


Fideocam concept

Fideocam is a pioneer in automating video tools for personal experience capture.

Categ

Archives


